Jessica Enoch

Jessica Enoch (she/her) is Professor of English and Director of the Academic Writing Program at the University of Maryland. She also serves as the vice president of the national organization the Coalition of Feminist Scholars in the History of Rhetoric and Composition. Her teaching and research focus on feminist rhetorics and pedagogies, feminist memory studies, spatial rhetorics, and rhetorical education. At UMD, she has been awarded with the ARHU Graduate Faculty Mentor of the Year Award as well as the English department’s Kandace Chuh Graduate Mentorship Award; and she was selected as a mentor for the Phillip Merrill Presidential Scholars Program. She has published two monographs Domestic Occupations: Spatial Rhetorics and Women's Work and Refiguring Rhetorical Education: Women Teaching African American, Native American, and Chicano/a Students. Her edited collections include Feminist Circulations: Rhetorical Explorations across Space and Time (co-edited with Karen Nelson and Danielle Griffin); Mestiza Rhetorics: An Anthology of Mexicana Activism in the Spanish-Language Press, 1887-1922 (co-edited with Cristina Ramírez), Women at Work: Rhetorics of Gender and Labor (co-edited with David Gold), and Retellings: Opportunities for Feminist Research in Rhetoric and Composition Studies (co-edited with Jordynn Jack). With research teams in the Academic Writing Program, Jess has conducted research and published on student reflective writing and revision practices.

Read more about ADVANCE Professors here.